Mussels in Brussels, among other things

I’ve been home for about 3 weeks now and although it’s great to be back, I’ve missed exploring Europe – so much of which I’ve never known before. So I decided to go back to writing again, when I can. I stopped for a while in my last week of travelling but now that I’m fully recovered from jet lag I feel like sharing some of the highlights of my last week spent in Brussels and in Paris (separate post to come).

Brussels was cold, or at least compared to the 25-30 degrees it was in Berlin and 35+ degrees in Athens. But a good reminder of the winter to be expected at home in the Southern Hemisphere. 

I stayed not too far from the European Parliament, which is situated on a fairly large block of land and is made up of several buildings. Nearby is the Parc du Cinquantenaire which looked to me like a very popular running spot. 

Visitors hall in the European Parliament

Actually, Brussels has lots of nice green parks. I also really liked this one (also not far from the EU) although I don’t remember the name of it:


No trip to Belgium is complete without trying some of their classics, including mussels and waffles! 


I asked for a Nutella-coated waffle but right when the girl at the counter started making it, I saw this huge jar of peanut butter. Nutella and peanut butter is one of my favourite combinations of all time. Suddenly I found myself asking for peanut butter ON TOP of the Nutella. The look I got indicated that this wasn’t the done thing, but she did it anyway I was beyond happy with my dessert 😊

The Belgian architecture is lovely, but the Grand Place was just on another level. I even found some earrings in a nearby pop-up market which reminded me of them (didn’t get around to taking a photo of these though):


And not far from the Grand Place was this Brussels classic:


My time in Belgium was short, but sweet. If I ever make it back I’d love to see Bruges and Antwerp as well because I’ve only heard great things about them. I’ve noticed that in every country I’ve been to, I’ve left something unfinished but a good enough reason for me to go back one day. So many places, cultures and stories to discover. 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Great pictures! I love the buildings in Brussels – i recently came back from there myself! Had an amazing trip!

    Like

    1. annies95 says:

      Thanks! So did I. Glad to hear you had a great trip!

      Like

  2. worldwidewanderingblog says:

    Some stunning photos – you can’t have stayed far from where I did! https://worldwidewanderingblog.wordpress.com/2016/07/10/brussels-belgium/

    Like

    1. annies95 says:

      Thanks! Yeah I stayed near the EU as well so not too far from you. Your photos look great too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

