Preciados Madrid

preciados: precious

A short reflection on art and the streets of Madrid 🙂

I’ve seen a lot of art in the past few weeks (or even in general, having gone to a few in Amsterdam), at the CaixaForum and the Thyssen-Bornemisza (modern art museum). The Thyssen was amazing, but the Caixa was small and easy to tell the museum was sponsored (still nice to see though).

CaixaForum (garden wall not part of it)

Madrid has a surprisingly large art culture that can be seen in the street art which seems to be common.

Generally the buildings are the same types of pink, yellow (and occasionally white) but the other day this bright blue popped out at me.

It’s a refreshing change from modern suburbia and skyscrapers, I think I’m even used to it now. I find that there are a lot more narrow streets around too, not too far away from the commercial city centre.

Another park I’ve seen just a few metro stops away was Parque Quinta de los Molinos, famous for it’s cherry blossoms. Unfortunately, the day we went was just after the cherry blossom season (and the weather wasn’t ideal) but a very serene environment.

I’ve started to get used to Madrid and what it has to offer. It’s a strange feeling knowing that only in 10 days, I’ll be leaving this city behind – not knowing the next time I will be back.

Sun setting at Templo de Debod

 

Leave a Reply

