Comida

comida: food

Over the past few years, I’ve become what we like to call a “foodie”. I have a huge appreciation for meals with fresh ingredients and cafes and restaurants with exciting vibes. It’s likely that this won’t be my last post that’s entirely food-related (and come to think of it, this isn’t the first either…or the second).

There is a lot of fresh fruit in Spain. The strawberries, bananas (often imported from the Canary Islands) and oranges stand out the most. When orange juice appears on a menu, it literally means freshly squeezed orange juice with no additives! Another popular method they like to use is tomato as a spread on toast, like in this picture at the popular La Bicicleta Cycling Cafe (my plate is the one with the extra avocado!):


I picked up some cooking skills since I left high school and have been able to draw on a few of them to survive (since eating out every day isn’t the most economically sustainable practice). Now that I’m two months into my exchange, I’m fairly confident I know where everything is and what sort of ingredients are better than others. I’m feeling a little bit more inspired with my cooking and came up with an eggplant pizza:


I bought some tomato salsa and mozzarella cheese to sprinkle on some veggies and not too long after that I had a very satisfactory meal!

My flatmate turned 21 today so last night I baked her a peanut butter and jelly pie (recipe adapted from Minimalist Baker – one of my favourite food blogs!). I managed to track down an extremely large jar of peanut butter (nut butter is not very popular here) which I think will last me the rest of the semester!


I didn’t take the best photo but she was very happy with the result! 🙂 To the right of the pie tray is the “jelly”, which is essentially a strawberry jam (strawberries heated over a stove top) – something so simple I never expected to think of.

I’ll be honest – I haven’t actually made any Spanish dishes since I’ve been in Madrid. Although, I’ve started using a lot of paprika and chilli spices whenever I make dinner and from what I’ve seen, paprika is a very popular spice here so I think this counts!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

